Author page

I must talk about myself … but what can I say?

You know that I’m a writer. But I don’t sell words for a living. It is, rather, like this … I live, and so I write. I think, feel and want to share, and so too I write. I write about the people I see and have known, either in this world that we all share or in the world that is mine alone or mind alone – however you want to look at it.

I write about life as it is, as it unravels, and as it could be. My stories are about people like Saraswati – my first heroine. My first heroine, for more reasons than that she happens to be the protagonist of my first novel, and about Kannan – the hero of my second novel, and a metaphor for Maanavi, a ghost village once, and now a village that has fallen off the map. I write too about figures from mythology like the nameless yaksha who once lived in Kalidasa’s classic, and about Bhima and Hidimba and their irresistably adorable son, Ghatotkacha. And about Jayant, the naughtiest boy in the class, absent-minded Saloni and Lizzie the lizard who changed her name to Lavender.

You may like to read about these characters who people my stories and the books they feature in [See links above].

After you get to know them a little, and if you have some time, do let me know what you think about them. Perhaps you know someone like them, and wouldn’t mind sharing the thoughts with me? I would, of course, love to hear from you.

You can write to me through comments on this blog, or directly to me at my email id sangha0mitra@yahoo.co.uk

[This is intended to be a dynamic website. Work on it is expected to be permanently underway. The links to the books, extracts, essays on education etc. should evolve with time. Thank you for visiting. Please leave your address if you would like to be contacted when the site is updated.]

I blog at kshama.wordpress.com – a little bit of me – a somewhat more rooted me – is left there too.

8 thoughts on “Author page

  1. I don’t sell words for a living. It is, rather, like this … I live, and so I write.

    Fabulous Revathi I loved that expression, I presume you to be from tamilnadu .

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections,
    As a writer, I feel you may find somethings of your interest.

    • Thank you for taking the time to read my article on the tribal people of India and for commenting on this page and on the research. It is my earnest hope too that this can be carried forward and contribute to practical policy-making that will cause real change on the ground. I wonder where you are from, and what your experience with mainstream education has been. I belong to a traditional family, though it is not a tribal family, and we too have many cultural practices that make a lot of good sense, but which does not find any takers in mainstream education or even skill training.

Leave a Reply

